After reading this article I belive I have a firm understanding of what this article is trying to convey. It is saying that to get good at something you must practice, but some talent is involved; because talent can only go so far. Talent only matters only to a certain extent, than practice and repetition is needed.

For example: Let’s say that I want to be a professional baseball player. But so does my friend John. Me and John both get baseball bats and baseballs for Christmas. When we hit the balls for the first time, John hits home runs almost every time, while I strike out almost every time. John obviously has more talent than me(due to better eye-had coordination, sight, physical inertia, and strength). But after weeks of playing, John has gotten lazy and decides that he no longer needs to practice, because of his talent; while I, who doesn’t have any talent, am practicing 8 hours a day. Six years pass and John hasn’t improved, but I have, and am ready to play baseball professionally, because of my experience and PRACTICE.

This is a perfect example of how talent  matters at first, but if do not choose to explore that talent to its full potential it will die down and somebody with less talent and more practice will easily surpass you.